Editorial Style Guidelines

Following a well-defined editorial style gives your writing a professional sheen and brings it in line with the university’s brand platform.

Talley Student Union

NC State's student community center was founded as the NC State College Union in 1951. The organization became known as Talley Student Center when it moved into a new building in 1972. In 2013 the facility was renovated, and the organization and building were renamed Talley Student Union.


Technician is the university's student newspaper, founded in 1921. The article "the" is not part of the formal name of the newspaper.

Student government election results were reported in Technician.
Student government election results were reported in the Technician.
Student government election results were reported in The Technician.

Technology Tower

This 115-foot-tall conical tower, made of open latticework, anchors the east end of Talley Student Union and provides an iconic landmark on central campus.

The Corner

The Corner is an outdoor community space centrally located on NC State’s Centennial Campus, at the corner of Main Campus Drive and Research Drive. Situated on The Corner’s lawn are a picnic area, a stage and four repurposed shipping containers. The word “The” is always used as part of The Corner’s name, and is always capitalized:

  • A tai chi instructor leads movement sessions at The Corner every Tuesday and Thursday.

The University of North Carolina

NC State is part of the 17-campus University of North Carolina System.

Official name: University of North Carolina

First reference in running text: University of North Carolina System

Second reference: UNC System, UNC

Do not capitalize “system” when standing alone:

The UNC System comprises 17 institutions across the state. The system's founding ideal is shared knowledge in a free society.

When the terms “University of North Carolina” and “UNC” stand alone without an additional qualifier, they only refer to the 17-campus statewide university system.

The administrative body in charge of the system, once known as UNC General Administration (abbreviated as “GA”), is now the UNC System Office. Do not abbreviate “System Office” as “SO.”

Following are the official names of the system's 17 constituent institutions as designated by the UNC Board of Governors. Preferred terms for second reference are in parentheses:

  • Appalachian State University (Appalachian State or Appalachian)
  • East Carolina University (East Carolina or ECU)
  • Elizabeth City State University (ECSU)
  • Fayetteville State University (FSU)
  • North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University (North Carolina A&T State University; North Carolina A&T; NC A&T)
  • North Carolina Central University (NCCU)
  • North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics (NCSSM)
  • North Carolina State University (NC State)
  • University of North Carolina at Asheville (UNC Asheville)
  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC-Chapel Hill)
  • University of North Carolina at Charlotte (UNC Charlotte)
  • University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNC Greensboro or UNCG)
  • University of North Carolina at Pembroke (UNC Pembroke or UNCP)
  • University of North Carolina Wilmington (UNC Wilmington or UNCW)
  • University of North Carolina School of the Arts (UNCSA; UNC School of the Arts; School of the Arts)
  • Western Carolina University (Western Carolina or WCU)
  • Winston-Salem State University (WSSU)

Thomas H. Stafford Jr. Commons

This green space on the north side of Talley Student Union is named in recognition of NC State's vice chancellor for Student Affairs from 1983 to 2012.

Titmus Theatre

This performance venue, located on the second floor of Thompson Hall, is operated by University Theatre, a division of Arts NC State. Titmus Theatre seats 192 patrons.

vice chancellor, vice president, vice provost

Do not use hyphens.

Betsy Brown is vice provost for faculty affairs.
Betsy Brown is vice-provost for faculty affairs.

Watauga Club

In 1884 a group of young men established the Watauga Club to help remedy North Carolina's poverty-stricken condition. One of the group's first projects was a campaign to establish an industrial school, which is now NC State. The first president of the club was William Joseph Peele. Other influential members included Walter Hines Page, Charles W. Dabney, Josephus Daniels, John W. Thompson and William Stuart Primrose. Watauga Hall is named in the club's honor.

Watauga Medal

This award was established in 1975 to honor those who have given outstanding service to NC State.


This term, a shortened form of World Wide Web, is lowercase in all uses. Also: website, webcam, webcast, webfeed, webmaster, webpage. But web address, web browser.

wellness day

Wellness days occur once each fall and spring semester. No classes are held on wellness days, and course instructors are asked to avoid tests or deadlines on wellness days or the day after. This term is lowercase: “This semester’s wellness day is Wednesday.”


Windhover is the university's student-published literary magazine. Its title is derived from the title of an 1877 Gerard Manley Hopkins poem.


The campuswide copying and print management service for students and departments.


The university's transit service.


Early NC State athletic teams were known as the Farmers and Mechanics, the Aggies, the Techs and the Red Terrors. The Wolfpack nickname was used only for football from 1921 until 1948. All other teams were called the Red Terrors from 1925 until 1948, when a poll of students was taken to choose a new nickname. "Wolfpack" was the overwhelming favorite in a student vote, and all athletics teams have used it from 1948 until now. In all instances, Wolfpack is a singular noun that takes a singular verb and pronoun:

The Wolfpack plays football at Carter-Finley Stadium. It plays basketball at PNC Arena.

Wolfpack Club

This organization provides private financial support for athletics scholarships and facilities at NC State. Its official name is the Student Aid Association. These two names can be used interchangeably.


The student-facing print management program at NC State.

Yarbrough Drive

This road on north campus runs from Dan Allen Drive to Pullen Road.